Kundalini Yoga

The name Kundalini Yoga refers to a physical and meditative discipline, which includes a set of simple techniques that use the body, senses, and mind. It opens up communication between the mind and body. Kundalini Yoga concentrates on psycho-spiritual growth and the body's capability for maturation. Kundalini Yoga gives particular significance to the role of the endocrine system and spine in the understanding of yogic awakening. Kundalini Yoga focuses on psychic centers, called charkas, within the body to produce a spiritual power, called kundalini energy.

People in the West only started practicing Kundalini Yoga relatively recently. In 1969, Yogi Bhajan introduced Kundalini Yoga to a wider population. To that end, he founded 3HO, which stands for the Healthy, Happy, Holy Organization. Even though Kundalini had not formerly been taught publicly, Yogi Bhajan believed that every person deserves an opportunity to experience and enjoy the benefits of Kundalini Yoga.

The Meaning of 'Kundalini'

Kundalini is the potential form of prana or life-force, which lies latent in our bodies. People think of it as a coiled up serpent which lies at the base of their spine, and the serpent can spring awake when triggered by spiritual disciplines. One can draw up the untapped energy via the body arousing each of the seven chakras. Complete enlightenment happens when that energy reaches the Crown Chakra.

Kundalini Yoga Practice

Kundalini Yoga practice involves a number of bodily postures, characterological cultivations, breathing patterns, expressive movements and utterances, and degrees of concentration. Yoga scholars tell people not to see any of these poses or postures as mere or gymnastic exercises or stretching exercises.

Most techniques consist of the following features: the positioning of the spine (usually straight), cross-legged positions, different methods to control the breath, the utilization of mantras, mental focus (often on the sound of the breath) and closed eyes.

Please note that the exercises cannot act as substitute for medical advice and medical care.

Focus on Movement and Breath

Practitioners of Kundalini Yoga use a specific breath with each asana series. That intensifies the effects of the poses, which in turn frees up energy in the lower body to move upwards.

Kundalini sequences, known as kriyas, may consist of holding a pose while breathing in a certain way or rapid and repetitive movements performed with breath.

What to Expect in a Kundalini Class

A Kundalini Yoga class will typically start with a warm-up to improve flexibility and stretch the spine. Then, the class performs a sequence of poses, known as a kriya. Those poses focus on a paticular area of the body. The class also utilizes meditation, including chanted mantras, madras, and pranayama. Devotees of Kundalini Yoga usually wear head wraps and flowing white robes.

Is Kundalini for You?

If you just want to do some physical exercise, then you may want to pass on Kundalini Yoga and instead enlist in a Yoga that focuses solely on physical exercise. Kundalini Yoga involves spirituality. It goes past just the physical performance of poses and focuses on breathing, chanting, and meditation. Nonetheless, the Kundalini sequences still involve physical challenges. For those reasons, Kundalini Yoga appeals to people who want both mental and physical challenges.

Also, remember that you do not want to practice Kundalini without a credible guide or teacher, or without appropriate psychological preparation. Improper practice may result in serious physical and mental problems, namely Kundalini Syndrome.

If you want more information about Kundalini Yoga, you may want to get one of the following books:

We hope this article answered all of your questions about Kundalini Yoga. If you have any remaining questions, or if you have any comments or suggestions, please email us at mail@onlineyogaclub.com or post them on our Yoga Forums.